Learning Log 4 for Module 2 6/22/2011

Mid-module nerves:  So I really just wanted to vent a little about my ability to use wiki.  For some reason I just do not get this particular tool.  And it’s not for the want of trying.  I have had approximately four or five lengthy interactions with wiki and I still can not grasp my frustration with it and how hard it is for me to use.  Usually I’m not the person who willingly throws in the towel early on something, but I’m afraid that if wiki still remains difficult for me after this class I am probably going to switch to something easier to use.  With that said, I must say that I am very impressed with all the interactions I’ve had with other online tools that I have used prior to and during this class.  I look forward to implementing many in the future as a librarian.  Particularly imovie – for project creations, wordpress – for communication and perhaps google reader for research purposes.  I can also foresee myself using screencasting for technological troubleshooting or for professional development enhancement.

Sam R.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Learning Log 4 for Module 2 6/22/2011

  1. Sam,
    I appreciate your honesty about wikis. They are a very unusual concept. I think as teachers and librarians, it feels wrong for us to go in and change another’s work. And while I’m doing it, I’m constantly thinking, “Oh no! I better hurry up. What if someone else is trying to edit the wiki at the same time? Or what if someone is viewing the wiki right now? Will they even see what I added or changed?”

    It is very foreign to me, as well, so do not feel too frustrated. And, I say, if you’re embracing so many of these other forms of technological communication, you should give yourself a pat on the back because mastering one or two is better than being confused about all of them!

  2. I agree!!! Technology can be frustrating. I am SO worried about this digital story!

  3. Margaret

    You will find yourself more comfortable with the wiki format as you continue using them. There is a bit of a learning curve; take advantage of wikispaces Help Page.

  4. If it’s how to questions, I had to do a bit of goggle searching to figure out how to embed my screencast. Check out some of the tutorials that other wiki users have posted.

    • That’s totally what I did, but thank you for the advice! – I think I just need to take a deep breath though, sometimes I just get myself more overwhelmed than I need to be!

      Sam R.

Leave a Reply

